La Pieta - Michelangelo

La Pieta – Michelangelo

The Stations of the Cross are a devotion that allows us to trace the journey, a mile long Via Dolorosa (Latin: way of sorrow), that Jesus made from Pilate’s court, the praetorium, to Calvary, his crucifixion and tomb. “Legend has it that Mary often retraced the sorrowful way her son made on Good Friday.” The Catholic Source Book  In the Middle Ages pilgrims would walk the path in Jerusalem.  Over time churches created 14 stations locally representing the events of the Way of the Cross.

Many churches around the world today contain Stations, and every Friday during Lent (the 40 days before Easter) people in Catholic churches recite the Stations.

Walk to the first station.
Stand and say the name of the station.
        The first station: Jesus is condemned to death
Kneel and Pray:
We adore you, O Christ, and we praise you,
        All: because by your holy cross you have redeemed the world.
Stand and meditate on the station.
Repeat for the 14 stations.

Here is the Way of the Cross


Catholic Information Service – Knights of Columbus

  1. Jesus is condemned to death.
  2. Jesus takes up the cross.
  3. Jesus falls the first time.
  4. Jesus meets His sorrowful mother, Mary.
  5. Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus carry the cross.
  6. Veronica wipes the face of Jesus.
  7. Jesus falls the second time.
  8. Jesus consoles the women of Jerusalem.
  9. Jesus falls the third time.
  10. Jesus is stripped of His garments.
  11. Jesus is nailed to the cross.
  12. Jesus dies on the cross.
  13. Jesus’ body is taken down from the cross.
  14. Jesus’ body is laid to rest in the tomb.